MediaWiki Engineering/Runbook/Reattach a global account
Background
Stewards
and all other users with the
centralauth-delete
permission can delete a global account using the
CentralAuth
page. That means that the account loses their
unified login
across all public Wikimedia wikis. With the implementation of the
SUL finalisation
all accounts are now global by default, and the need to delete global accounts should be rather scarce at this point. Sometimes, however, a global account can be deleted by mistake when stewards intended to
globally lock
the account instead, and a request to have the account globally reattached could appear.
Steps to reattach a global account
- Access CentralAuth data for the affected account. You'll see that only local accounts exist and that there's no global account information.
-
On a
deployment server
:
- Migrate the local accounts to SUL account using migrateAccount.php
- Attach them using attachAccount.php
- Log the reattachment on the Production Server Administration Log.
See also
- task T154983
- task T155184 — specially this comment from a sysadmin explaining the process.